Vehicle Registration Requirements

Renewals

  • Registration renewal card, or previous registration if registered in Teton County or another County in Wyoming.
  • Proof of insurance

New Vehicles

  • Certificate of Origin or Manufacturer Statement of Origin                                                              Proof of Insurance Policy
  • A Dealer Invoice and/or Notarized Bill of Sale                                                                               click here
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Lease Agreement (or paperwork), if leased vehicle

Used Vehicles

  • Wyoming Title
  • Dealer Invoice and/or Notarized Bill of Sale
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Lease Agreement (or paperwork), if leased vehicle
  • Completed Inspection Affidavit of Vehicle Identification Number (VIN inspection)

Transfer From Another State

  • Wyoming Title or Current Registration from the State of transfer
  • Completed Inspection Affidavit of Vehicle Identification Number (VIN inspection)
  • Proof of Insurance

Registration Deadlines - Payment of Fees

  • If a vehicle is purchased from a private individual, registration is required within 45 days.
  • If a vehicle is purchased from a dealer, registration is required within 60 days.

Sales tax must be paid within 65 days from the date of purchase to avoid penalty and interest. Irrespective of payment of registration fees.

Transferring Plates

If transferring Wyoming plates, please advise staff.